Legal Entity Identifier Register - Markets in Financial Instruments Directive II (MiFID II)

Markets in Financial Instruments Directive II (MiFID II)

Background information on MiFID

MiFID (Markets in Financial Instruments Directive) is a guideline issued by the EU in 2004 intended to harmonise European financial markets. The goal of this guideline was and still is the creation of more transparent and integrated financial markets enabling securities trading to become as much efficient and economic as possible.

In order to achieve this goal, an extensive catalogue of regulations had been compiled containing among others rules about investor protection - for example a “best execution” and a corresponding documentation. Furthermore, a new definition of trading platforms had been implemented with MiFID (regulated markets, multilateral trading systems, systematic internalisers) and far-reaching transparency regulations for the OTC-Trading (over-the-counter) had been introduced, too.

In the course of the financial crisis of 2008 the weaknesses of this regulation came to light, originating from a higher fragmentation of trading places, the occurrence of new technologies and financial products, as well as oversized margin of discretions of the member states.

From MiFID I to MiFID II and MiFIR

The conclusions gained from the financial crisis lead to a revision of MiFID in 2011, which became known as MiFID II, as well as additional regulations by the name of MiFIR (Markets in Financial Instruments Regulation). This new regulation has been accepted by the European Parliament on April 15, 2014.

A new market structure was introduced with MiFID II/MiFIR in order to close legal and regulatory gaps.

Trade should, if possible, only occur on and with regulated platforms. In the course of this, so-called organized trading systems (Organized Trading Facility, OTF) were implemented, ensuring equal competitive conditions in trading with non-equity instruments.

Furthermore, guidelines are introduced with MiFID II / MiFIR, regulating OTC-trade with derivatives. Starting 2018 therefore all financial and non-financial counter parties are obliged to trade (all until this date OTC-traded) derivatives on one of the designated, organised markets.

One important key aspect is the expansion of pre- and post-trade regulations of transparency data and the obligation to report trading. This includes the precise identification of the trade partner.

Impact on the LEI

The EU determines in MiFID II that a Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) is to be used in order to precisely identify counter parties participating in trading. Within MiFID II the LEI accomplishes two tasks. On the one hand the LEI serves as a mutual and precise identifier for the counter parties. On the other hand the LEI plays an integral part in the notifications and recordings of transactions that have to be performed by trading platforms. Due to the fact that the new regulations issued by MiFID II come into force on January 3, 2018, trade without an LEI is henceforth not possible.

Directive (PDF 1.7 MB)

Legal Entity Identifier Register - Markets in Financial Instruments Directive II (MiFID II)

Markets in Financial Instruments Directive II (MiFID II)

Hintergrundinformationen zu MiFID

MiFID (Markets in Financial Instruments Directive) ist eine im Jahr 2004 durch die EU verabschiedete Richtlinie zur Harmonisierung der europäischen Finanzmärkte. Das Ziel dieser Richtlinie war die Schaffung transparenter und integrierter Finanzmärkte, die es ermöglichen, Wertpapiere möglichst effizient und kostengünstig zu handeln.

Um dieses Ziel zu erreichen, wurde ein umfangreicher Katalog von Regelungen geschaffen. Dieser beinhaltet zum Beispiel Regeln zum Anlegerschutz, wie „Best Execution“ und einer entsprechenden Dokumentation. Weiterhin wurden mit MiFID eine Neudefinition von Handelsplätzen vorgenommen (Geregelte Märkte, Multilaterale Handelssysteme, systematische Internalisierer) und weitreichende Transparenzvorschriften für den OTC-Handel (OTC = over the counter = außerbörslicher Handel) eingeführt.

Im Zuge der Finanzkrise in 2008 wurden jedoch die zunehmenden Schwächen dieser Verordnung deutlich. Diese ließen sich unter anderem zurückführen auf eine erhöhte Fragmentierung der Handelsplätze, das Auftreten neuer Technologien und Finanzprodukte sowie auf zu große Ermessensspielräume der Mitgliedsstaaten.

Von MiFID I zu MiFID II und MiFIR

Die aus der Finanzkrise gewonnenen Erkenntnisse führten im Jahr 2011 zu einer Überarbeitung von MiFID, die unter dem Namen MiFID II bekannt wurde, sowie ergänzender Verordnungen namens MiFIR (Markets in Financial Instruments Regulation). Diese neue Verordnung wurde am 15. April 2014 vom Europäischen Parlament verabschiedet.

Mit MiFID II/ MiFIR wurde eine neue Marktstruktur eingeführt, um rechtliche und regulatorische Lücken zu schließen.

Handel soll -wenn möglich- nur noch über geregelte Plattformen stattfinden. Im Zuge dessen wurden sogenannte organisierte Handelssysteme (Organized Trading Facility, OTF) eingeführt, die für gleiche Wettbewerbsbedingungen beim Handel mit Nichteigenkapitalinstrumenten sorgen sollen.

Weiterhin werden mit MiFID II/ MiFIR Richtlinien eingeführt, die den OTC-Handel mit Derivaten regulieren. So sind ab 2018 alle finanziellen und nicht-finanziellen Gegenparteien dazu verpflichtet, alle bis dahin außerbörslich gehandelten Derivate auf einem der dafür vorgesehenen, organisierten Märkte zu handeln.

Ein weiterer Kernpunkt ist die Ausweitung der Vor- und Nachhandelstransparenzvorschriften und die Pflicht zur Meldung von Geschäften. Hierzu gehört auch eine eindeutige Identifizierung der Handelspartner.

Auswirkungen auf den LEI

Die EU legt in MiFID II fest, dass zur eindeutigen Identifizierung der an einem Handel beteiligten Gegenparteien der Legal Entity Identifier (LEI) genutzt werden soll. Der LEI erfüllt innerhalb von MiFID II zwei Aufgaben. Zum einen dient er den Gegenparteien zur gegenseitigen und eindeutigen Identifizierung. Zum anderen ist er Bestandteil der durch die Handelsplätze zu leistenden Transaktionsmeldungen und -aufzeichnung. Da die durch MiFID II vorgegebenen Regulationen zum 3. Januar 2018 in Kraft treten, ist demnach ab diesem Zeitpunkt ein Handel ohne einen LEI nicht mehr möglich.

Richtlinie (PDF 1.7 MB)